Chain Smoker

Here’s something I “brainstormed” today. I’ve been getting up into my head so much, (that’s why I didn’t blog last week…was a bit overwhelmed and recovering from the auditions), so I decided to open the cage door and write for writing’s sake, with no particular format or formula. Below is a video and the lyrics of the FIRST run-through of a song I call “Chain Smoker“-again, this is a BRAND NEW tune, so, it’s got a ways to go.

You’ll notice, to help inspire and explore other ways of thinking, I have a few “key words” along with the 6 senses at the top of the page. Did I use all 6? BTW-it’s prolly a good idea to read along while you listen…

chain smoker, running through the airport, early morning

Taste/Smell/Touch/Sound/Sight/Movement

Chain Smoker

Written by Skaie Knox

Don’t care much ‘bout what the weather man says,
The sun will shine or not, and nothing’s gonna change that,
Ah, damn, the wall clock’s off again,
Battery’s low, and now my car door, well it won’t open…

With a jerk and tug I slide on in,
Shove the shifter into drive, I got a funny feel’n,
Traffic lights help me make up time,
Hurry now to wait in line.

Park,
Check-in,
Violation,
Locate,
My gate,
Apprehension,
Suffocation,
I’m choking,
No smoking,
Four hours in the air,
Jones’n pull’n out my hair
Insane attack,
I panic,
Eyes all pasting over,
Tongue fuzzier than ever
Bang, bang,
Jerk,
We fall,
Light up,
Shut up,
Ignore,
It doesn’t matter any more.
Splash,
Crash,
Black.

About skaiebirdsings

I write songs cuz I love to see what is possible when the stuff in my head & heart meets the keyboard of a computer, the strings of a guitar, the ears of anyone near enough to listen. This is my thang...I love, love, love to write, even though it drives me to the brink of insanity...ah...such a non-boring place to be. View all posts by skaiebirdsings

One response to “Chain Smoker

Leave a Reply

